PDA

View Full Version : Mark I/II/93R: Is this a Mark II or Model 93 chambered in 22LR

supr78nova
09-16-2009, 07:17 PM
Hey guys this is my first time posting on this board and I was hoping you might be able to help me out.

http://i153.photobucket.com/albums/s226/supr78nova/misc%20pictures/savage22LR.jpg

I found this earlier and I am unsure as to whether or not it is a Savage Mark II or a Model 93 rifle. It looks like a MARK II-BTV, which Savage only offers in 22LR, not 17HMR which the ad says is the other option. Then again it also looks a lot like a Model 93R17BTV except that it is offered in 22LR, not 17HMR exclusively. To me, it appears as though it is a model 93 chambered in 22LR instead of 17HMR that they are selling through Dick's. Are there any dead giveaways that this particular rifle is one or the other?

What are the main differences between the Mark II and the Model 93 rifles. Similarly equipped, is one better than the other? Also, is $300 a decent price for this rifle?

Thanks,

Dan

shelbyfan
09-17-2009, 04:39 AM
You are thinking to hard, stop it before you brain explodes. It doesn't matter what is pictured, it is a 93, they use the same action. The only difference is the barrel and magazine parts. You will probably not be able to find that exact model on Savages website as most big stores, Dicks, Sportmans, Cabelas, etc, all have their own special line they sell that are slightly different than the others. I once came across a store model that had a walnut thumbhole stock and it was not the classic.

supr78nova
09-19-2009, 06:27 PM
As it turns out they were selling both the Mark II and the 93R17 models under the one advertisement. I picked up a Mark II-BTV in .22LR with a 3-9x40 scope earlier today. I hope to see how it shoots some time this week.

Dan

Bad Water Bill
09-19-2009, 08:09 PM
First welcome to our happy home.

Next get yourself some Wolf Match Target ammo.
Now go to the range and see what your new rifle can really do at 100 yards.