PDA

View Full Version : Long Range School

DrThunder88
06-07-2015, 12:41 PM
I've got a hankering to do some long range shooting with my Axis build, but the problem, apart from not having a long range on which to shoot, is that I have no experience other than watching some Tiborosaurus Rex videos on YouTube. I figure going to a school would address both of my problems and would like to know if anyone had any suggestions. I'm not looking for extreme long range shooting by any means, probably out to 1000 yards or thereabouts. I am located in Metro Detroit but am willing to travel by car for a day or so, so I can make something of a road trip out of it.

One option I found is BangSteel.com, which would be a schlep but not unreasonably so. Still, any closer or better options would be welcome.

darkker
06-07-2015, 08:59 PM
You just asked "what do I want in a woman"....

Here is the thing, many of us taught ourselves to shoot, so, you can to. Take ANY YouTube video with a grain of salt, or anywhere else online.

I shoot 55-gal drum lids at a mile with a few rifles, none cost over $850, even if you add the optics and dies...
What you need to do is practice!! And pay attention to everything you do. Shoot when it's nice, shoot when it's not nice. MOST problems are that people don't know their system.
Their trigger sucks, their trigger control is worse, they don't know ballistics, or how to adjust their scope.

Knowing EXACTLY when the trigger breaks; knowing when it was your loads, or you that botched the results, can't be bought, just learned.

Just start shooting, A LOT; and it will come to you.

upSLIDEdown
06-08-2015, 12:40 AM
That's a lot of good advice in a very short post.

I will say, however, that Dan and the guys at Bangsteel have a great place to shoot, and are very knowledgeable. I've never taken one of their classes, but I shoot matches there on a semi-regular basis. It's great place, with great people. I don't think you'd be disappointed.

DrThunder88