PDA

View Full Version : Seating to lands???

BarrelNuts
05-01-2015, 11:36 PM
I've seen a lot of references to folks seating their bullets to the lands... since I'm fairly new to reloading and all my ventures thus far have involved measuring factory ammo of the same bullet weight and seating to that depth.

The basic understanding I have thus far is you can use a specially made gauge OR notch a case neck and de-burr, place a bullet in the case and use a dowel or similar rod to push the bullet forward (gently) until it stops then removing the case; measuring the OACL and seating to that length.

First question is if this is the correct procedure; the notching case method as I don't feel like spending $30 or more on something I can make myself for about $1.
Second question is WHY should I be worried about this vice just sticking to the SAAMI/reloading manual's OACL... in fairly easy to understand terms.

Thanks in advance

foxx
05-02-2015, 12:19 AM
I don't know if I recommend you trying to make the tool you describe yourself, but it won't cost much to try, so go ahead.

As to WHY bothering to know the length at which point the bullet hits the lands... because, as you will discover if you study more about reloading and experiment yourself, different bullets and rifles like different specs. No one rifle is the same as another. Sometimes a rifle prefers a certain bulletin to be seated against the lands, some like to be a bit off the lands, or a bit more yet. If you determine that it prefers to be a certain distance from the lands, then you want to be able to duplicate that later. Also, in time, the throat erodes and therefore the start of the lands will move further down the barrel. As it does so, you may find it prefers the bullet to be seated longer and longer so as to keep it's specific proximity to the lands. Without measuring and experimenting, you'll never know that.