PDA

View Full Version : New 338 Lapua target rifle

alphapygmy
04-13-2015, 01:46 AM
Anybody seen one of these close up or shoot one? Looks like a good one to get into the 338 Lapua for the price. It's part number 22448.

http://i759.photobucket.com/albums/xx239/alphapygmy/338lap.jpg_zpsg8axxcau.png (http://s759.photobucket.com/user/alphapygmy/media/338lap.jpg_zpsg8axxcau.png.html)

Bolted
04-14-2015, 04:33 AM
Just bought one off Gun Broker tonight! Should be in my hands in a couple weeks at most I hope. I need help on ordering mounts for it though. I have no experience with the Magnum Target Action, and it doesn't even say if it is drilled and tapped for sights on the Savage website! If it is, what size screws, 8x32, 6x48? Can I put a 20 moa rail on it without ejection/load issues, or am I stuck with two piece bases? I will know more when I get it of course, but I would like to have everything here when it arrives. Any help would be much appreciated, and of course I will be calling the dealer as well as Savage to try to get some answers.

Yes, it seems like a good price for a 338, which is very good, considering how much even reloading for it costs! I will update as I get more info, and will also report on how it shoots.

Dave

alphapygmy
04-14-2015, 02:48 PM