PDA

View Full Version : First Savage - rebarrel checklist

Matno
03-17-2015, 10:41 PM
Just picked up a Predator Hunter Max 1 in 22-250, planning to swap the barrel to a 6.5 Creedmoor. Total newbie to Savages (and bolt guns in general other than just using them...) Just want to make sure my bases are covered. Here's what I think I need (and some things I'm not sure if I do), let me know if I'm missing anything.

1) Barrel nut wrench. (Is the newer smooth barrel nut just a friction fit?)

2) Go/No-Go gauges (or at least a go gauge).

3) Magazine - here I'm not sure. I've searched all over the internet and feel like I must be blind to be missing this. Do I need a new magazine or follower? No clue for this particular caliber swap.

4) Recoil lug - I know it isn't necessary, but does it really make a difference? Are there even aftermarket lugs for the Accustock?

5) Bolt face - I'm fairly positive I don't need to change anything there, since both are .473"....

6) Barrel - I have no idea what the profile of this barrel is called. It's a straight taper and at the muzzle it measures .705". Before I buy a new one, I should probably figure this part out! I'm planning to keep the Accustock, so it needs to fit. Stock barrel is fluted, but I realize that's mostly a cosmetic thing and wouldn't pay extra for it. I do like the weight, but since the flutes are pretty shallow, I doubt they make much difference there.

A couple of barrel specific questions:
What finish would best match the matte black of the Savage barrel? (I may just go matte stainless or even cerakote, so it may not matter, but I'm curious)