PDA

View Full Version : Savage 110 build

idunham
03-16-2015, 11:10 AM
Hey all,

I'm going to pick up my first big project gun. Savage 110 in a .243. I wanted to build a .243 as a bench gun that i'm shooting 1/8-1/4 MOA.

First question is, Why does Savage manufacture the .243 in a long action, rather than throwing it on a short action?

Second, Being this is my first build, what are some recommendations on directions to go? Shaw Barrel? Timney Trigger (Or purchase an accutrigger?), Boyds stock, or?

And also, what are some things i need to look out for?

Thanks,
Isaiah

rbp75503
03-16-2015, 12:04 PM
1st thing to look out for is it really a long action with 5.0" action bolt spacing, or is it an intermediate action at 4.522" action bolt spacing? If it is the later then your drop-in stock options are next to nil.

I have a mdl 110C originally a .243 action with 4.522" spacing which is presently at XLR Industries being used to cut a custom Evolution chassis.

It took a lot of research and begging to find a stock or chassis manufacturer willing to help me finish my build.

idunham
03-16-2015, 12:09 PM
Why was there a switch? Also, why does Savage mfg in a long action, rather than using a short action?

Hotolds442
03-16-2015, 12:33 PM
The 110's in .243 were built before Savage introduced their short action receiver. Before that time, everything was built on a long action.

idunham
03-16-2015, 12:44 PM
Another Question I Have: I don't believe this 110 has a floorplate. Is there anyway i could set the action up to have a floor plate?

sharpshooter
03-17-2015, 12:02 AM
You need to re-think your whole project. Bench guns don't need floorplates, and for 1/8-1/4 moa. accuracy your caliber and barrel choice is insufficient.

jonbearman
03-17-2015, 12:41 AM