PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from the Sunshine State

BigDave
03-16-2015, 12:54 AM
Age 58 from Fort Lauderdale.

I can build an AR 15 in my sleep from the smallest spring and roll pin. I mean great performing AR's. I know every tiny part by heart. I can painstakingly fit Ghost disconnectors and hand polish Glock internals, change out every internal piece!

I am a total newbie in Long Range Precision Rifle There is so MUCH to learn. Forget about the complicated ballistics...just the massive amount of support equipment you need for precision rifle is a bit overwhelming. I have never ever owned a bolt gun or any kind of rifle caliber larger than .223. I have never shot over 100 yards. That is all going to change.

I have looked into this for almost 2 years. I have studied, read, watch a lot of YouTube (Tibasousrus Rex in particular). So I am a GREAT long range shooter in my own mind. LOL. I have never fired a shot over 100 yards. I believe I have the patience and willingness to learn how to totally shift gears from my CQB rapid fire training with AR15's and 9mm.

LRPR seems like a total mediation and great for those of us who have OCD tendencies. I really want to do this. I have done the "run and gun" thing for a while now. I want to expand my skill set to a totally different pace and discipline.

I have it mostly under control as far as getting started. It has taken me many months just to pick and find a gun! I am talking about the large amount of work to be done before even the first shot is fired.

It's not a good thing when you are particular and fussy like me AND on a tight budget. I want to immediately improve and modify what I buy. I just can't affords to do that, so I thought a great gun I could live with and modify later is a Savage. Remington just didnt appeal to me. Especially when everyone told me to get a Remington. Maverick that I am, I ignored them and studied Savage..and liked what I saw.