PDA

View Full Version : Skim bedding help

1luckeyt/a
05-08-2010, 07:22 PM
I would like to skim bed my H&S stock that was attached to my model 10. I have never done anything like this before so if somebody has done this I use all the pointers I can get. I understand and have seen the work that is takes to bed a rifle, just not one with a bedding block. What brought this about was when I noticed my receiver had come loose in the stock. So figured I would take it apart and take a look at this bedding block and see what it was all about. When I removed the receiver I noticed wear marks from the block. They were not uniform in size. This rifle already shoots great so it wasn't a problem, but it seemed like a good excuse to do something like this. I got some devcon from a buddy, and my rifle is all apart now I just need some wisdom on this matter from those who have done it. So I have a few question about what to do after the prep work is complete.

1. Do I need to bed around the recoil lug, and if so where?
2. Since it already has a solid foundation do I need to tape the barrel to make sure everything is level?
3. After I apply the devcon to the block and lay in the receiver I should just torque down the receiver to squeeze out the excess correct?
4. How much tq should be applied to the receiver bolts?

If I am way off, please feel free to say so. Like I said this is the first time i've done anything like this so if anyone has some pics of this in progress that would be awesome. Well if it shoots better after this that would be great. If not oh well I would still benefit from the experience. Any input is greatly appreciated

mytwo60
05-08-2010, 09:29 PM
1. Do I need to bed around the recoil lug, and if so where? yes, cover the entire area around the recoil lug.