PDA

View Full Version : Savage 11VT and Savage 12 LRPV

Donnie D
02-17-2015, 07:31 PM
This will seem like a dumb question, but I'm fairly new to Savage rifles. I know the 11VT has the Accutrigger, and the 12 LRPV has the Target Accu trigger. Also the 11VT has a heavy tapered barrel, and the 12 LRPV has the stainless full bull barrel. Neither has the Accu stock. Other than about $600 difference in price what are the other differences in the two rifles.
Thanks,
Donnie D

foxx
02-17-2015, 07:44 PM
LRP has a HS Precision Stock (far superior to the Accustock or any other Savage synthetic Stock) and a Stainless Steel target action which is not "open" across the top like the hunting actions. I believe it also takes a large shank barrel, which is no big deal, really, until you go to replace it someday. Even then, you just need to know it's larger so as to get the correct version. Large shank is not necessarily any better than standard shank.

Donnie D
02-17-2015, 07:54 PM
Thanks foxx. I also know the 12 LRPV has a right hand ejection port and a left hand loading port, but I just didn't see how that would be of benefit to me. In fact, it seems that it might be a bit awkward. Either way, I was saving for the 12, but needed some of the money for other things, and decided to get the 11VT. So far I'm very impressed with it.
Donnie D :smug:

foxx
02-17-2015, 08:05 PM
They are all good. When shooting from the bench it is nice to see into the action when loading. But the cost difference is high. I dont imagine ever getting one of those either. But then again, I shoot right hand actions left handed anyhow. So I do know the advantage a left load port is to right handed shorter.

HAMPS
02-18-2015, 05:12 PM
I have the LRPV in 6BR Norma. Left load and eject. Been shooting 300m F- class with it and doing quote well. Love the gun. Trigger set around 10oz.

Fotheringill
02-18-2015, 05:17 PM