PDA

View Full Version : Model 12 BTCSS - .22-250 - feeding issue

1bullet2kills
05-07-2010, 11:46 AM
I am new to rifle shooting. I saved up and just purchased a brand new Savage Model 12 BTCSS. I took it to the indoor range just to fire it a few times before I use it at long yardage.

When I pull the bolt back, the brass ejects just fine, but does not pick up the new one to load in the chamber. I can see it there in the Detachable Box Magazine, but the bolt just slides back and forth.

I have tried Remington UMC and Hornady Vmax. It does not appear to do it on the first round, but usually the second round.

I measured the brass length and OD and are as follows...

Remington UMC 45gr = length is 2.315" and OD's are .467:
Hornady Vmax 55gr = length is 2.347" and OD's are .467:

I took out the bolt, wiped it down, lubed it again and ran the action back and forth about 200 times.

What else should I try? ???

1bullet2kills
05-11-2010, 09:12 PM
What? No help here in this forum?

drybean
05-11-2010, 09:20 PM
give people some time

Blue Avenger
05-11-2010, 09:25 PM
plan a... have savage send you a new clip
plan b...bend the mag lips out to let the round up a little higher. no need to bend then very much.

Locosmith
05-11-2010, 09:25 PM
if it's a detachable mag, you may need to adjust the lips on the mag. It (the round)has to lift up a little for the bolt to catch it.Loco

82boy
05-11-2010, 09:48 PM
On the new detachable magazines make sure it is in properly, there is a way to jam them in and it looks like it is in but it is not. Make sure the magazine clips in. If it is out them you will get a condition just like you have described.

slyfox
06-26-2010, 05:55 PM
I have had the same problem with my Model 12 BTCSS in 22-250. I sent it back to Savage, under warranty, and they sent it back with no explanation. All there was, was a list of four (4) one dollar ($1) parts used. Sooooooooooooooooo not happy with Savage. >:(

rjtfroggy
06-27-2010, 07:07 AM