PDA

View Full Version : Savage Long Action Stocks - Tactical (MDT or McRee's Precision...others???)

jrmy_1
01-15-2015, 11:17 AM
So, I built a Savage 116 in .308 with a Brux barrel probably 5 or 6 years ago and have never put it into a nice stock....it's still in the plastic stock.

I really liked the McRee's Precision stock at the time (and it was the only modular stock option I knew of) but now I see that a company MDT makes a modular stock (mdttac.com). One of the issues with McRee's Precision is that they only offer the stock in a short action. I've been talking with folks from McCree's precision for the past 5-6 years as they've been telling me that they are working on a long action version of their modular stock but to this date they haven't made anything yet and I just talked with them last week and they said to call back in the beginning of January as they are going to SHOT show and will be releasing new stuff following SHOT.

Now, the MDT modular stock is currently available in long action. They offer two versions, one is a LSS (supposed to be light weight) the other is the TAC21. For some reason, the TAC21 says that it's for long range and the LSS is for medium range but I'm not sure what would make the difference between the two as they both seem the same. I would be interested in the LSS version since it's lighter and I already have bedded 20moa bases on the rifle. This weighs about 1.7lbs and doesn't include the stock but utilizes standard AR15 components.

The McRee stock comes as the whole thing with a side folder stock for ease of cleaning. For the MDT stock, I would need to buy a folding AR15 adapter (if they make one, a stock, etc.) although not that big of a deal l guess.