PDA

View Full Version : Need help identifying 223 case bulge

HiTekRedneck
04-29-2010, 10:54 AM
So I'm still fairly new to reloading and I've found that my brass is getting a strange bulge about 1/4" up from the case head and maybe 1/4 - 1/3 way around the case. The shiny spot between the two arrows is the lower lying part, looks like the last little bit of the case isn't coming into contact with the chamber walls. It is faintly evident in once fired brass, but twice fired brass it is clearly seen and felt. It measures .0065" thicker, is that even enough to worry about or degrade accuracy any? Some pieces are worse than others though. Rifle is a Savage Model 11 w/ factory 223 sporter barrel. Neck sized only so far w/ Lee dies. I'm using 23.4gr H322 w/ Remington brass and 13.4gr Blue Dot w/ Winchester brass, both loads are doing it although the Winchester brass doesn't look as bad. Could my chamber be a little out of spec? I also noticed that most flyers had a worse bulge than the rest in a group. This is my first 223 rifle, so not sure what to expect fired brass to look like, this could be completely normal. :-\

http://i175.photobucket.com/albums/w125/HiTekRedneck_album/firearms/brass.jpg

trappst
04-29-2010, 01:11 PM
You didn't mention what bullet weight. Where did you measure the .0065" figure? Case growth in that range just forward of the head is way too much.

I think we may need some expert opinions on this one.

My first thoughts would be too much pressure, slightly oversize chamber caused by reamer wobble. I'm no expert so I'll leave this one for the gunsmith type fellers!

tdnichols
04-29-2010, 01:37 PM
Have you fired any factory loaded rounds? I would do that and if you have the same indicators; pack it up and send it to Savage. You could do a chamber cast and see what it tells you.

Fjold
04-29-2010, 01:48 PM
Use the "Macro" option on your camera for close up photos.

HiTekRedneck
04-29-2010, 05:14 PM