PDA

View Full Version : My quest for accuracy

Pages : [1] 2

Idaho
01-06-2015, 08:45 PM
I'm learning a LOT about long guns. Did not know that any given gun will shoot to different points of impact with different ammo. I was naive enough to believe that if I put the crosshairs on target and maintained constant trigger pull that the bullet was going where I aimed it. My Savage model 10 .223 has taught me otherwise.

It was frustrating because I could not get good groups and I was finding that sighting in with FMJ and hunting with ballistic tips of the same bullet weight was no recipe for success. I educated two coyotes and have not been back since until I get this sorted out.

My quest led me through several different bullet manufacturers and varying bullet weights and styles. I started shooting at 2 x 3 foot pieces of paper with crosses drawn on them for aiming points because it was iffy that the next load would even hit an 8 1/2 by 11 sheet of paper. I kept those targets with notes as to which bullets made which groups and sat down at the kitchen table with a set of calipers one day to collect some data. To my surprise I found 40 Gr ballistic tips gave a 0.6 inch group and a 55 gr FMJ gave me a 0.79 inch group. I bought a Dillon 550 reloader and a set of Lee dies and went to work.

I picked up some H335 powder for it's ability to meter accurately and because others I've talked to have had good luck with that powder. (had to start somewhere) Savage told me that they test fire their rifles for 1 1/2 inch groups with 69 gr match ammo so I bought a box of Barnes 69 Gr Matchburners. I got one group at 0.6 inches with a reduced load and another at 0.91 inches near published max.

Reloads with 55 gr Nosler ballistic tips has so far been all over the place. Groups over 2 and three inches!