PDA

View Full Version : 308 150 Core-Lokt Varget Question

WildCard
04-24-2010, 02:04 PM
Hello Everyone! I've been reading through the boards for a while now, but this is my first post. I'm pretty new to reloading (less than 100 rounds so far) and just got started on loading my first ladder series for my .308 Win (Savage 12FVSS, 1:10 twist). I decided to go with Varget powder, as it seems pretty popular for the 308 and also should be decent in my 223. I also picked up some Remington Core-Lokt 150 grain bullets to get started.

However, I have a couple of questions: First, looking through my reloading manuals, Lyman says that the max charge for a generic 150 grain PSP bullet is 47.0 grains, Nosler says 48.5, and Hornady says only 44.9! I understand that they may all be using slightly different bullets, but unless I'm reading something wrong, this seems like an awfully big range. What gives - is this just our nation's lawyers at work? Seems like I've read before that Hornady is often pretty conservative.

I loaded a series of 5 each from 42.0 to 45.0 grains of powder in 0.5 grain increments, with about 20 extra at 42.0 grains just for some practice reloading. I'm trying to figure out how much higher to go and may base my decision on how the groups and pressure signs (if any) look at 45.0 grains. So far I've only had a chance to fire the 42.0 grain loads, which grouped about 2" at 100 yds. I admit I'm not the world's greatest shot, but how much do you guys typically see your groups drop during load development?

Sorry for the book - I appreciate any feedback you guys can give me!

Thanks,
Dave

darkker
04-24-2010, 04:16 PM
Dave,