PDA

View Full Version : Progressive press??

drewaki9
11-30-2014, 06:03 PM
So I have been reloading on a lee classic breech lock press for a little over a year trying to figure out the ins and outs of reloading. I have loaded a few thousand rounds in that time period including 223, 223ai, 9mm, and 38 special.

I like the single stage for precision but I would like a progressive press for bulk 9mm and 223 loading. I'm on a pretty tight budget here and would like to keep it at the 200 dollar mark. I understand this doesn't leave me a whole ton of options. I have seen the lee pro and loadmasters about this price, and have also seen the Dillon 450 around there too. Any suggestions would be appreciated and I thank you all in advance.

Rick_W
11-30-2014, 06:25 PM
I believe for that price you might be better off looking towards a turret press as the only progressive in that price range is the Lee Pro 1000.

While I have no direct experience with it, I hear more bad than good. It can make good ammo but requires more attention/fiddling to keep everything operating smoothly.

A Redding T-7 or RCBS turret will allow you to speed up by having your dies mounted and set properly, requiring only a turn of the turret to complete the next step.

I don't believe you can go wrong with a Dillon. I have two 550s set up and only occasionally want the 650. I can load 100 rounds of .38 Special in about 20 minutes. It takes me far longer looking for split cases and ensuring I don't have .357 cases mixed in.

Balljoint
11-30-2014, 07:13 PM
Like the Dillion 550 as well, once set up properly works VERY well

Rooster 50
12-01-2014, 12:28 AM
Like the Dillion 550 as well, once set up properly works VERY well

I agree but set up the way he wants it you're looking at close to 800 dollars even used

gotcha
12-01-2014, 02:31 PM
Be patient and shop around. Gun shows, on-line, etc............... Sooner or later a good deal will come your way. I got a used 550 that way. The RCBS is also spoken well of.