PDA

View Full Version : Help with first Savage build

Mordamer
11-27-2014, 10:37 PM
I am going to build a savage 10 into a long range gun. I will use it for targets, prairie dogs, coyote hunting, or deer hunting.

I am planning on ordering a pre-fit savage barrel with a varmint contour, fluted, and chambered in .260 AI. I have that part figured out.

Questions:

1. What is the cheapest source of a Left Hand Savage 10/11 action for this project?

2. Where do I get the Savage factory bottom metal that is a direct drop in for this stock (http://www.boydsgunstocks.com/ProductDetail/43a334e1g203_pro-varmint-savage-12-top-bolt-release-dbm-short-action-left-hand-action-factory-barrel-channel-laminate-stock-w-black-textured-finish)?

3. What else am I forgetting?

I am open to all suggestions as this is my first build. I am capable enough to bed the action in the stock and to swap savage barrels.

Thanks!

Steelhead
11-28-2014, 12:09 AM
All I can help you with is #2 and #3, you can get bottom metal directly from Savage, they sent mine pretty quick.
If you need part #'s and a serial # let me know.

I'd also get a better recoil lug and maybe barrel nut and receiver wrench.
Jim at NSS is a top notch source for those.

I was shooting my 260 savage with parts I got from Jim today at over 1600 and doing decent with it.

darkker
11-28-2014, 02:17 AM
1) the man with the cheapest price is the cheapest source, seriously.
2) depends on which action spacing and configuration, but yes: Savage, Midway, Brownells, the various fine sponsors of this site, like Jim.
3) depends on what you do or don't have. May need to due a built head swap.

Mordamer
11-28-2014, 04:34 PM
I talked to Jim at NSS today. He got me straightened out on what to pursue to get this build finished. He was super helpful and sounded interested in my project even though he probably works with 20 people on the same thing everyday. Great guy!