PDA

View Full Version : Probably a stupid question but...

ex-af
04-21-2010, 10:34 PM
I'm new to center fire rifles. I recently acquired a model 12 BVSS chambered in .308 (which BTW took quite the search to even find one). It's referred to as a short action. Just what exactly is the difference between a short action and a long action?

My other Savage is 93R17 that has been highly modified for 100yd benchrest. Shoots 1/4" groups with ME shootin' it!

Uncle Jack
04-21-2010, 10:49 PM
".....Just what exactly is the difference between a short action and a long action?"

Oh, about 3/4".

Seriously, short actions accommodate shorter .308 size cartridges and long actions work with longer 30-06 and magnum size cartridges.

Short actions are just that, shorter, and they weigh less.

uj

Slowpoke Slim
04-21-2010, 10:54 PM
It's as simple as it sounds, the "short" action, is shorter in length than the long action. Since your BVSS is a 308 variant, it was built on a short action. If the same BVSS had been built in 30-06, it would have been built on a long action, to allow cartridge clearance of the longer cartridge.

The difference will mainly be in relation to what stocks will fit your action. If you measure the distance between your action screws, it will either be 4.40", or 4.25". Most likely it will be the 4.25" spacing, also referred to as a "stagger feed" gun, which names the type of magazine it came with. The earlier short actions were 4.25" "stagger feed" guns, and the current production short actions are 4.40" spacing and "center feed" guns.

You'll need to know which one you have if you want to swap stocks. Either one will take the same barrels though, but of course you couldn't get a 30-06 cartridge to feed through the short action, it won't clear. It will screw into the receiver though.

BrentWin
04-22-2010, 08:42 AM
Welcome to the Forum and to the Brotherhood of the Barrel Nut.

ex-af
04-22-2010, 12:15 PM