PDA

View Full Version : Savage 10p Stock

scrtsqrl
11-05-2014, 10:57 PM
I am brand new to the savage game and all of their numbers and stuff. I was pretty much sold on buying a remington 700 varmint heavy barrel but then I would have to buy a detachable magazine, a timney trigger, a new stock, get the barrel threaded, and that was a whole lot of money that I was not "allowed" to spend so I bought a savage 10p with accutriger, 20 inch threaded heavy barrel, and detachable magazine and it was about a 130 dollars cheaper than the remington 700 I was looking at.

I have done a lot of reading and savage does not make it easy trying figure out all of the numbers and the non-sense. I went ahead and bought a short action 20 moa scope mount for it. I know that I need to replace the stock. I am having a hard time finding an after market stock. I have felt the choate ultimate varmint and love it but I can not find one with a detachable magazine. I am pretty much open to any suggestions for a stock that is under 300 and has a pistol grip or thumb hole stock. Any help would be appreciated.

pdog2062
11-05-2014, 11:11 PM
Try Boyd's gun stocks,I have three of their thumbhole stocks and really like them.

chukarmandoo
11-09-2014, 04:20 PM
Shoot it like it is! Forget the "need a different stock" and you'll be fine.

darkker
11-12-2014, 09:17 PM
1)I have done a lot of reading and savage does not make it easy trying figure out all of the numbers and the non-sense.
2)I went ahead and bought a short action 20 moa scope mount for it.
3)I know that I need to replace the stock.
4)I am having a hard time finding an after market stock. .

1) Read the Centerfire FAQ about actions. The numbers really are all the same, just action bolt spacing.