PDA

View Full Version : 300 win mag build

gtagovan
09-07-2014, 10:58 PM
I just purchased a 300 win mag and am wanting to start building it. I am new to savage and am having difficulty finding parts for the 110 in 300 win mag. I guess I am trying to find good sites to find barrels, triggers, stocks, etc. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Also what is a good barrel length in this caliber? I was thinking of around 28".

bootsmcguire
09-07-2014, 11:08 PM
26" and up on barrel length IMHO.

Go check out boyds for stocks if you like laminates, stockys is another decent choice.
Triggers, there are quite a few choices out there. SSS has some great ones, Rifle Basix is another good and popular choice.
For barrels my personal favorite is Apache Gunworks (http://www.apachegunworks.com), he makes great barrels at great prices and makes 'em the way you want them. Northland Shooting Supply is another great choice, Jim Briggs is great to talk to and has some good prefits available, I would recommend the CBI brand from him. McGowan outlet is another popular choice around here, and the couple of McGowan barrels I have been around were good shooters.

FEENIX
09-07-2014, 11:47 PM
I just purchased a 300 win mag and am wanting to start building it. I am new to savage and am having difficulty finding parts for the 110 in 300 win mag. I guess I am trying to find good sites to find barrels, triggers, stocks, etc. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Also what is a good barrel length in this caliber? I was thinking of around 28".

Welcome to SS and enjoy!