PDA

View Full Version : Semi-custom Savage 110 Build...help needed

Bigeclipse
08-19-2014, 09:01 AM
Hey everyone. I am knew to this forum, but not really new to shooting. I have been shooting for the last 5 years (this includes pistols and rifles, target for fun but not competition, and hunting). I am actually a member on the Long Range Hunting forum. Someone over there recommended me to come here with questions, so here I am. As my title explains I am contemplating doing a semi custom build on a savagae action. My brother gave me his older savage 110 7mm rem mag. It has some wear on the bluing (no rust though), but overall id say its good to go and actually shoots rather well as is. As stated it is an older 110 with blind magazine (staggered feed) and side bolt release with no accutrigger. My plan is to build a semi-custom 300 win mag hunting rig using an after market barrel and stock. My distances will typically be under 400 yards on deer, elk, bear and possibly moose in the distant future)... but would be nice to know I could stretch it well past that if I want to :cool:. Of course I would like to have as accurate as possible rifle with-in my budget but anything around .5-.75MOA with my hand loads would be great. I have been eye-balling a pac nor barrel with a #6 contour (this would probably fall into a heavy varmint type barrel) but It has proven rather difficult locating a stock that would fit this thick of a barrel with out modification. Manners and mcmillan both make a stock that would fit but are crazy expensive. So my questions are as follows, what are your suggestions on barrels both brand and shape. Do I really need a heavy varmint/bull barrel contour so should I just get a sporter type barrel which will then allow me to get into a cheaper bell and carlson stock? What stock shape should I be looking into? Also, whatever stock you recommend...it would have to be good to go from the factory as I do not feel comfortable modifying or bedding a stock and unfo