PDA

View Full Version : wantin to start wildcattin

Hutch
04-02-2010, 12:14 PM
been thinkin bout wildcats for along time now. Really got no idea where or how to start, other than pickin an aready done wildcat an git after it. On that note I've always wanted to do a 14/221 walker. I really think that's gonna be my first one, simply cause i can git a pac-nor barrel all ready to go. Reckon i'll neead some dies and try to find some one to make some bullets.

How hard is it to make a good quality bullet anyhow??

Now if I can just sneak some more packages in without the misses noticing ::)

Hutch

BrentWin
04-02-2010, 04:44 PM
Hutch,

For your first wild cat, I would suggest something a little more "normal". I have no experience with the 14/221 walker, but I would suspect that very small increases in powder could make pressure jump dramatically in such a small diameter barrel.

Just my opinion

Hutch
04-02-2010, 05:27 PM
point taken, but man! that sucker sure would be fun around my woods. Be real easy on the fur too, i reckon

Hutch

Hutch
04-02-2010, 05:40 PM
now mind you, I've been reloadin for about 16 years,semi-presision loadin for about the last 5,bout the last year or so I've really started to pay close attention the little details and have really been asstounded by the kind of accuracy one can attain with virtually any cartridge.

I'll definently do alot more studying on the subject before i start throwin down hard earned cash, otherwise my wife will skin me.

A lathe is on my will get list. That way I cut out most if not all the labor cost of wildcattin.

All in time.....

Hutch ;)

stevec
04-02-2010, 06:28 PM
Hutch, The only .14cal bullet that comes to mind is made by Calhoon(If still in buisness) Do you have the P.O. Ackley books? Thaere is some good info in them on the 14 cals, and about anything else ever dereamed up.

The first rifle I built was a wildcat(6-284) and now I have owned or do own several (6-250AI, 6CBX,6.5-284,6-204,20 TAC, and working on the