PDA

View Full Version : Timing a barrel with iron sights

big honkin jeep
06-18-2014, 10:55 PM
What's the proper way to time a used barrel with iron sights onto an action? Though I've been tinkering Savages for quite a while I haven't tried this yet. I found a barrel I'm interested in if it's not too much of a PITA. Thanks

Bravojmc
06-18-2014, 11:03 PM
What kind of barrel is it? What's it chambered for?

LoneWolf
06-19-2014, 02:22 AM
Have you tried just headspacing it and seeing how close it is to lining up?

6mmBR_Shooter
06-19-2014, 06:40 AM
i tried that with 2 different barrels on one of my actions and wasnt that close. the closest one was about 30 degrees off when headspaced properly. good luck, i hope yours works out!

scope eye
06-19-2014, 07:19 AM
I have done it by sanding down the recoil lug, and it worked out fine, I have also did the same to get the proper head space on a Remington.

Dean

olddav
06-19-2014, 09:38 AM
I have no knowledge of how to index a barrel with sights, but I would think that you would need to extend/retract the bolt head to alter the head spacing. The sights have to be at 0 degrees (TDC) so one has to alter another part of the rifle to achive the correct head spacing. That would seem to be the bolt or bolt head?

You could ream the chamber if your sights are at a postion before 0 degrees.

BillPa
06-19-2014, 11:08 AM
What's the proper way to time a used barrel with iron sights onto an action? Though I've been tinkering Savages for quite a while I haven't tried this yet. I found a barrel I'm interested in if it's not too much of a PITA. Thanks

As I understand it, after setting the headspace the barrel is roll stamped and drilled-tapped for sights if they're to be installed. Its why many times when swapping barrels between actions the stamping doesn't line up. I had some a 1/4 of turn off. Its the difference in actions and how the headspace was set at the factory, tight, loose or somewhere in between.

Bill

Bravojmc