PDA

View Full Version : New to reloading... What to buy

Pages : [1] 2

NoDealin
05-29-2014, 06:17 PM
Hi all... I am new to the Savage shooters forum as I just purchased my first Savage (Hog Hunter .308). I have owned several pistols, and a home defense shotgun, and love to target shoot and plink at the range.

I am am considering reloading my own ammo, and have done a little research on the major manufacturers ( Lee, Lyman, RCBS, Hornady) I want to be able to reload the following cartridges: 9mm, for home defense and plinking, .45 for home defense and plinking, .223 and .308 for target shooting out to 500 yds, as well as some hunting. I would rather not spend $1,000, and have a decent sized area to reload. My realistic budget is about $400 to start, with some additions down the road.

I am am reaching out to the forum looking for recommendations for the best quality/value reloading gear for a beginner. I understand that reading the manuals is important, and plan to do so. I plan on reloading 100 rds or so each week in pistol, as well as 20-30 each week in rifle.

What would you recommend I purchase? Keep in mind I am a noob, and if there is a sticky or other thread than answers this, can you post a link to it? When I have more specific questions I will bring them back....

wbm
05-29-2014, 06:31 PM
You are going to get lot's of answers to your questions and everyone will have their favorites.

You might consider a basic reloading kit. Hornady, RCBS, Lee and others offer a basic kit and usually you save some money going that route. Midway, Cabelas, and other vendors have what you are looking for.

As far as ammunition for home defense goes, I personally would not reload a 9MM or 45 for that purpose....go with factory!

NoDealin
05-29-2014, 06:35 PM
Thanks wbm....

buggybuilder
05-29-2014, 07:18 PM
You can't go wrong with anything that says RCBS on it. Replacement and repair parts warranty is fantastic!

bootsmcguire
05-29-2014, 07:41 PM