PDA

View Full Version : New Savage - Dissappointing Results

jdon88
03-24-2010, 09:52 AM
I took my new 11 FCNS in .308 to the range a few days ago for the first time but had mixed results. After first few shots to zero the scope I started shooting groups. First few shots were right next to each other, which I expected, then next shot would be 4" away. I thought it might settle down since new barrel but never did. I used 3 different types ammo but all acted the same. Typical result would be first shot right where I was aiming, 2nd shot 3" to the right and 2" low, 3rd shot in the same hole as first one, 4th shot 2" high and left. I was shooting at 100 yds, no wind but steady rain. Ammo was mostly PRVI 165 gr SP, also tried Federal American Eagle 150 gr BTHP, and Hornady Match 168 gr BTHP. Scope is a new Vortex diamondback with Burris Zee rings with inserts and 2 piece base. Only thing I can think of is maybe ring screws not tight enough? The scope seems tight in the rings, doesn't slide around. I wasn't sure how tight to make it and didn't want to overtighten. I used loctite on the base screws and snugged then down with more force than the ring screws. Any ideas?

Eric in NC
03-24-2010, 09:55 AM
Bad scope, loose mounts, loose action screw, or bullets hitting rain drops (it happens).

oldguy
03-24-2010, 09:58 AM
Couild be a stock problem, is it free floated, check stock screws see if snug. Sounds like pressure on barrel at some point.

jdon88
03-24-2010, 10:08 AM
I didn't check the stock screws, assumed everything is good since its brand new accustock. I'll try it again in a few days, first I'll make the rings tighter then try using an old scope if it continues. Thanks.

wbm
03-24-2010, 10:14 AM
Couild be a stock problem, is it free floated, check stock screws see if snug. Sounds like pressure on barrel at some point.