PDA

View Full Version : 22-150 IMR4064 Overcharge....now what

Turbo_760
04-28-2014, 07:54 PM
I am new to reloading....

I loaded up my first 25 rounds of of IMR 4064 with sierra BlitzKing 55gr. I used once fired hornady brass from this rifle that was necksized and trimmed using lee case length trimmer. This bullets were seated .050" from the ogive to the lands. ( factory heavy barrel has really deep throat) I load 5 round each from 34 to 36 in .5gr increments. I only have a 100 yard range available and tested all the loads. I settled on a load of 35.5 grs as my favorite and would be sufficent for woodchuck's. The 36gr load the bolt had a smidge of resistance but primers looked fine.

So I load up 50 rounds using the 35.5gr recipe above. Go to the range and fire 1 round. Bolt it really hard to open and case will not extract. The primer has also been blown out of the case.

I pulled a bullet and weigh the charge on my balance scale and find that I have 38.5 grs vs a max of 36.3 I checked my balance scale vs the calibration weight set that I have and it is dead on. Not sure how I messed up this batch but they are all at 38.5gr. So I fired a charge that was 2.2 grs over the max

I slide my cleaning rod into the bore and the case dropped out. Also the ball that goes underneath the extractor got lost when I pulled the bolt out at the range. The extractor appears fine.

The case also as the impression of the ejector on it and the the rim seems to have grown about .001" verse another fired case. However, the case doesn't have any splits or tears in it

What should I do with the gun? I could take the barrel off to better inspect it or I could just get another barrel, or is this gun a lost cause

Comments/suggestions

scope eye
04-28-2014, 08:15 PM