PDA

View Full Version : Savage 99: Scope base issues for my 99.

John Harris
04-09-2014, 05:56 PM
Another Newbie here with questions. I purchased a 1951 Savage 99 with a scope already mounted. Got an Old Redfield 2x-7x with the horizontal line and post and wanted to mount in existing rings. When I released the rear Weaver ring the scope sprang up and off the base by about 3/16". My question is where can I find prints of the radiuses of the rear mount area to 3D machine the proper surfaces to match the action. My NEW Leupold 1 piece base comes 0.200" above the action. Any help would be appreciated.

Mad Dog
04-09-2014, 08:59 PM
Is it a model R or an EG?

The R's would have been factory drilled in 51 but the EG's weren't drilled and tapped till 57. Just wondering if someone buggered it up, never heard of a one piece not fitting before unless it was drilled and tapped for a Williams scope base, they fit differently but if your holes are matching up chances are it wasn't for a Williams.

John Harris
04-10-2014, 07:25 PM
Mad Dog

Its not an "R"for sure. Serial #604155 with no letter designation. It honestly appears as though someone (Gunsmith or Apprentice, Non Factory) drilled and tapped it, i.e. no chamfering. The holes are spaced 1/2" apart both front and back. My real question is Where can I find the prints identifying the radiuses. I am a Tool Maker and have access to CNC 3D machining. Just trying to eliminate set-ups in the mill.

Guess I will just have to wing it the old-fashioned way. I'll figure it out. I'll post pictures once I get done. Waiting on Brownell's now.

sayak
04-12-2014, 01:45 PM
If you cant find the prints, can you make an epoxy female mold of your receiver area and work from there?

John Harris
04-15-2014, 07:21 PM
Sayak,