PDA

View Full Version : Mark I/II/93R: Pimp my BSEV

Alby mangles
03-30-2014, 06:34 AM
Alright my fellow savages:rockon:

I'm eagerly awaiting my new BSEV 22lr, which I'll be collecting in three (long) weeks.
What I want to do with it is bench rest, and I'm currently liking the look of the leupold vx1 3-9x40 in silver.
thats as far as I've got thus far.
what I need to ask the savage universe is:
1) what rings and bases do you guys and gals recommend
2) is there a bipod available that doesn't involve pulling the rifle down to install
3) what do you guys think of the leupold vx1.

any advice you guys could give me would be appreciated as I'm just getting into shooting, and I'm not too sure how much advice from gun shop guys is sales driven if ya know what i mean

cheers
Alby

Maztech89
03-31-2014, 12:52 PM
So are you wanting to shoot actual bench rest or just from a bench with a bipod and bag? Any hunting, what distances, and what sort of accuracy are you looking for? Answer these questions and we can better help you pick gear. Yes the vx-1 3-9 is a great scope for hunting, but it'd be towards the bottom of my list for a target gun due to heavier cross hair, low magnification, non target turrets, fixed parallax etc.

n4ue
03-31-2014, 04:49 PM
Alby, hi. I'll answer your questions in order (I hope!)
1. Bases - I like Weaver and EGW, both one piece styles. The reason I like the one piece style, is that I have a lot of rifles and 'spare' scopes and I'm constantly swapping them around. Kind of a sickness I guess, but I can swap scopes without having to do a lot of rezeroing. Rings, I like the Weaver Quad style. I have a bunch and never a single problem. Believe it or not, I also have a bunch of UTG rings (4 and 6 screws / ring) that hold zero perfectly.
2. Bipod - Every rifle I have (except the original BMag) has a Harris 'style' bipod. If you have a front sling swivel, it's a simple bolt on. Used with a rear bag, it's great.