PDA

View Full Version : build options, savage newbie here

red_rock_beetle
03-29-2014, 12:31 AM
After hearing many good things about savage and having the build itch again I bought a 110 in 30-06 for a build I have done work on and built firearms in the past but never a long range bolt action so here I am. what I am looking at so for is a heavy barreled 30-06
Stock: I am looking at the laminate varmint tactical stock here http://www.sharpshootersupply.com/
Action: I have already acquired an action not sure on the details as I'm out of town right now and not around it right now I plan on lapping the locking lugs and true the face of the action if need be
Barrel: I have been looking at a Shilen select match in a varmint contour from here http://www.thebarrelman.com/Barrelman_Pricing-Savage.htm
Trigger: I was planing on dropping in a Timney trigger
I'm thinking these things along with a 20 MOA scope mount, high power scope and nice bolt handle should make a nice rifle is there anything you would change or add? And yes, I have a go and no go gauge along with savage barrel nut wrench and action wrench.

fgw_in_fla
03-29-2014, 01:01 AM
This will help with lapping in the lugs:
http://www.savageshooters.com/showthread.php?14083-Lapping-in-a-bolt&highlight=lapping+lugs

red_rock_beetle
03-29-2014, 01:10 AM
Thanks fgw, learned something there. That's where I may have a bit of an advantage, I am currently out of state for a month or two so I am collecting both knowledge and parts in hopes that upon my arrival back home I can complete the build all at once.

jonbearman
03-29-2014, 08:05 AM