PDA

View Full Version : bottom bolt release to top release

rug380
03-15-2014, 09:17 PM
guys this has been hammered to death but im new to the game. where can I get the one piece sear to convert my mod 11 to top bolt release and what part number. thanks

drybean
03-15-2014, 09:26 PM
you will have to mill the side of your receiver so a top release /sear will fit

drybean

rug380
03-15-2014, 09:31 PM
does it require a lot of milling?

Westcliffe01
03-15-2014, 09:37 PM
You might want to try this part number

https://www.gunpartscorp.com/Search.htm?s=999180

I do not know how many different sears there were for 10/110/12/112/116 but typically they are listed as out of stock. The ones above are in stock for $13. Savage will probably only sell a sear to a gunsmith, like a trigger. I now see that Numrich is listing export restrictions on many of these parts too.

drybean
03-15-2014, 09:38 PM
yep, do not try it with a flat file
do not think that you can bend one without breaking it
best to send it to smith & buy a sear

drybean

Westcliffe01
03-15-2014, 09:53 PM
Having the sear in hand will make it clear how much material would interfere. A clearance cut is a relatively simple operation.

rug380
03-15-2014, 10:42 PM
thanks guys i just built a 6.5x47 and i have the fever. is this the way to go on the bottom bolt release actions or should i stay away from them?

Westcliffe01
03-15-2014, 11:01 PM
Going with a side release will open up more stock options than with bottom release. Stock options are already skinny as it is. So it is probably a good investment if you have a stock in mind that is intended for a side release. You can get the model 12 laminate stocks from the 12 LPV on Numrich for $148 new. That is a better deal than anything else on the market. I wish I could find one of those for a long action...

rug380
03-15-2014, 11:07 PM