PDA

View Full Version : Savage lightweight vs Lady Hunter

Ncsavage
02-25-2014, 06:49 PM
I am interested in purchasing one of these two rifles in 6.5 or 260 but wanted to know what everyone's thoughts were. Let me first say that I am interested in the Lady hunter even though I am a MAN. Maybe that sounds weird but the darn thing felt good with the cheek piece. I am also short (5'6") and my LOP is 12.75" so my LOP is right in the middle of these guns.

So is there any negative to the Lady hunter for a man due to the cheek piece? I also really like the lightweight but may need to cut the stock to fit me. I am new to Savage (normally a Sako 75 fan or Ruger's) but have really been impressed with the new lightweight & Lady hunter. Plus the Savage would allow me to save a lot of money from my normal Sako route (plus custom Sako stocks cost a fortune). The weight and balance of these two new Savage's are wonderful.

Any suggestions on which to pick and why? Any men using the Lady hunter as well?

Thanks!

David_4
02-25-2014, 07:27 PM
Nothing wrong with the Lady Hunter it's LOP was a little short for me. I have the LWH in 6.5, but had to shorten it to a 13" LOP. If you like the Lady Hunter go for it.

Ncsavage
02-25-2014, 07:35 PM
Thanks David 4! I like the LWH and would be fine with cutting the stock. The advantage to the Lady is it's already cut and if I don't like it would be easier to sell if I didn't like it (since the stock hasn't been cut).

How does the 6.5 do in the LWH? Does it group well and why did you decide on it over than the 260 other than more room for bullet seating. Also, does the fluted bolt smooth out over time? The only one I tried was a tad gritty.

Thanks!

woodbnek
02-25-2014, 07:42 PM