PDA

View Full Version : Help me understand chambering (when are specific reamers needed?)

tondar15
03-08-2010, 10:25 PM
I am still very new to centerfire rifles and I'm trying to learn as much as I can. I recently bought a model 16 in 7mmWSM. I'm on the list at SSS to get T&T'd. I think I'm going with a McRee Precision stock. The last decision I have to make is what barrel and what cartridge. I am definately favoring the 7mm RSAUM but I'm trying to figure out chambering. More specifically when do you need a custom reamer?

If I order a barrel chambered in 7mm RSAUM what am I getting? I know you need a specific reamer for chambering in 7mmWSM when you are planning to use 300WSM brass. Does this mean you can't ever shoot factory 7mmWSM rounds? One of the guys over at Benchrest forums used a PT&G reamer designed specifically for 7mmRSAUM based on resizing 300RSAUM brass (Nosler specifically).

Is it simply not possible to setup a chamber that can shoot factory 7mmRSAUM as well as reloads with 180 Berger's based on either remington brass or Nosler/Norma 300 RSAUM brass?

If I know the majority of my rounds will be reloads should I consider what my "usual" load will be based on and pursue a reamer that fits that combination?

Thanks for the help!!

Artpro
03-08-2010, 10:47 PM
I hope you're not as confused as your post leads me to think. Firstly, you can have a reamer made to whatever specs you desire within reason. Custom reamers for a specific cartridge will usually have smaller-tighter necks and maybe shorter or longer throats, than SAAMI specs, depending on which bullets the shooter intends to use. Please also be reminded that the 7mmWSM and 7mmRSUM cartridges are factory rounds but are NOT interchangable. If you have your new barrel chambered for 7mmRSUM that is the only cartridge case you should shoot in it. Reforming brass is a separate topic.

tondar15
03-09-2010, 11:05 PM