PDA

View Full Version : Atlas Worxs Review

SlimySquirrel
01-19-2014, 06:08 PM
Just thought I would review the Atlas Worxs Bottom Metal I had put on the Boyds Feather Weight Thumbhole.

The Main Reason for the purchase was the "Feeding Issues" I seem to have stumbled upon with both my SA Savage Rifles.

I wondered whether it was my style or that I was just unlucky when it came to my purchasing so, after some serious thinking I went ahead and I'm glad I did.

I have no experience with the CDI or other types of bottom metal. This being the case I can only comment on how this particular model has functioned.

http://i816.photobucket.com/albums/zz85/SlimySquirrel/Savage%20Project%2022-250/285615020_zpsa88340aa.jpg

First Impressions

The Build quality is solid but again I have nothing to compare it with or too other than the factory unit and in comparison it is much sturdier and overall much easier to use.

Installing required a fair bit of in-letting (So I am told) and also a new "King Pin" as the factory one was too short
and the Featherweight stock lacked the depth to fully flush mount it so as a result it sits a little "Proud" but still very nicely done by Scotty at SSRNZ.

The Mag that comes with the unit is the Ruger "Accurate Mag" and it holds 5 Rounds and the Spring is really strong. The initial loading of rounds is tough due to the "Lips" being a little too close but a gentle filing sorted that out.
I believe any AICS type mag will also work.

The Unit comes with an adapter that means it can fit either the 4.2 or 4.4 which I think is a nice touch.

Function

As I said before, my "Style" of working the bolt seemed to be a little off when it came to the short action Savages.