PDA

View Full Version : Getting 12 F-Class today - What should I check?

01-13-2014, 09:35 AM
Hey, guys,

I'm finally taking receipt of a Savage 12 F Class today after a LONG wait.

My question is, when I go to do the transfer at my local FFL, what things should I check on this gun to make sure it's not "used labeled as new" or "this one shot lousy so we put it back on the shelf for another sucker to buy" or maybe an older model that they're trying to pass off as a newer model or whatever?

I'm not new to guns or shooting, but I AM new to target guns in general and Savage target rifles in particular, so any help or suggestions you might have would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Stockrex
01-13-2014, 09:53 AM
Print off page with rifle description and model # and that to what you get, sounds silly but BUDs burned me once on a savage benchrest, it was a bear to return it, I lost shipping and insurance, still pissed about it.
which one did you get? post link or 5 digit savage #.

I don't think you can tell if is "used" labeled as new, as they test fire in factory and most of my savages came with dirty bolts, barrel...

01-13-2014, 10:19 AM
BUDs burned me

Ouch. Just what I didn't want to hear.

How did they burn you? (Please PM me if you'd prefer to keep it off the board.) I want to know all the tricks.

The gun agreed upon was a Model 18155 - Model 12 F Class (http://www.savagearms.com/firearms/model/12FCLASS) in 6.5-284 with 30" heavy bbl.

I want to have as much info as I can when I go to pick it up, so that if there's anything bad about the deal, I can refuse to take delivery.

Thanks for your reply.

01-13-2014, 06:11 PM
Just to update the crew, received the gun, and it looks like what I wanted, so all is good as far as I know with Bud's.

Hotolds442
01-13-2014, 08:56 PM
Awesome!

01-13-2014, 10:22 PM
The trigger straight out of the box is SWEET.

Now I need to handload some kibble!

Patch700
01-13-2014, 11:08 PM