PDA

View Full Version : Model 11FXP3 questions

spraynbuckshot
01-02-2014, 11:11 AM
First off, I am new to Savage rifles so pardon my ignorance.

I recently got a model 11FXP3 270 WSM on a trade. I have searched the threads here and it seems like there is a good bit of info on model 10 and 12 but there is very little information or discussion on the model 11s. Why is that? Was this model not very popular or have a low following?

This particular gun was produced in December 2003 from a recent call to Savage Customer Service. It has the accutrigger that has been adjusted to perfection. After a detailed breakdown and cleaning it appears that this rifle has been shot very little. Are there torque specs or sequence for the action screws that are in the stock? I am looking at replacing the flimsy stock with an aftermarket one - most likely a Boyds thumbhole.

What kind of accuracy can I expect with solid rest, excellent glass, and factory ammo?

RP12
01-02-2014, 11:32 AM
The 11 is the same action as the 10 and 12. The 11 is a short action, where as a 111 is a long action and so on. The numbers just reflect different models and options. You should get M.O.A. or better, for accuracy.

Stockrex
01-02-2014, 12:43 PM
this is a combo, with a bushnell scope and accutrigger and regular Tupperware.
I have a few for the short action in 243.

spraynbuckshot
01-02-2014, 01:06 PM
I guess someone along the line has switched scopes out on it. There is a cheap Barska 1.5-6X42 on it now which has got to go.

So there is no difference between model 10, 11, and 12 actions, barrels, and triggers (other than short and long action)?

Are there torque specs or certain tightening sequence for the action screws that are in the stock?

Werewolf
01-02-2014, 01:23 PM