PDA

View Full Version : Do you prefer staggerfeed or centerfeed, and why?

hc18flyer
12-14-2013, 10:48 AM
Don't want to hijack a thread, but? I am new to the Savage Forum, Why do you prefer the staggered feed? I am considering converting a Stevens 200 22-250 to .358 win. Thanks, Tom

EDIT:
Moved this into its own thread.

RP12
12-14-2013, 11:55 AM
Don't want to hijack a thread, but? I am new to the Savage Forum, Why do you prefer the staggered feed? I am considering converting a Stevens 200 22-250 to .358 win. Thanks, TomIf it's a blind mag they are easier to load. The main reason I like them best is you can just drop a round in the action(for bench work). With the CF you have to put the round in the mag first to load, or get a single shot mag follower.

stangfish
12-14-2013, 12:13 PM
So to pile on and with the possibility of being redundant... Many of the guys on this sight find more aftermarket parts and upgrades available for the center feed both long and short actions. However there is nothing wrong with a stagger feed rifle. I have found the quality to be at least equal in every instance. The flat back models have fewer options with scope base/ring options. Not enough of a hindrance to throw in the towel on those models though. IF you can find a quality stagger feed for a good price in the caliber you want....or with the bolt face you want for a new barrel don't hesitate.

pdog06
12-14-2013, 07:23 PM
Don't want to hijack a thread,

Then please don't. Just ask your question in a new thread. It is really easy to do. I will move this one to a new one for you.

hc18flyer
12-14-2013, 08:15 PM
Sorry, My question pertained to a Stevens M#200. I'll stick to the thread. Tom

Joetinva
12-16-2013, 11:16 AM
I'm building a .223 on a Stevens 200 action and can't find a stagger magazine box anywhere.

tammons
12-16-2013, 01:35 PM
If an internal magazine, I prefer staggerfeed - Easier to load. External mag Centerfeed - more reliable feeding.