PDA

View Full Version : To bed or not to bed?

Pages : [1] 2

gunrack
12-08-2013, 09:06 PM
Forgive me if someone has already posted about this.

I would like opinions on whether bedding the action on my Axis 7mm08 would improve the accuracy or not? I have bedded several rimfire rifles that I own but this is my first attempt at trying it on a centerfire. From looking at the recoil lug and the area where the lug is mounted in the stock It appears that it could use a little reinforcing from the way the material is honeycombed around it.

I've owned the gun about two weeks and put down two deer on the spot with it but it does not print good groups on paper......yet.

OCD is getting the best of me.

Any input would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Smokey262
12-08-2013, 10:45 PM
You know you are going to do it regardless of what anyone says right? If you don't you will always blame the action to stock fit for the groups you say you are getting.

Go for it.

gunrack
12-08-2013, 11:01 PM
LOL Thanks. Believe I will give it a shot. The only problem is there aint much meat on these little stocks and I'm kinda skeerd!

RP12
12-08-2013, 11:10 PM
If your getting acceptable accuracy, I wouldn't bother.

LoneWolf
12-08-2013, 11:23 PM
I would replace the stock before trying to make a junk stock better just seems like a waste since there are options available now. My Axis shoots sub half minute groups in a SSS stock and rebarreled. Before they became available I was in your same predicament!

gunrack
12-09-2013, 12:27 AM
Thanks for the replies. Right now I am enjoying tinkering with it. I looked at other stocks but really don't want to sink nearly as much as I gave for the rig into a new stock. Those after market stocks are expensive unless I'm not looking in the wrong places?