PDA

View Full Version : trouble with fireing pin

02-27-2010, 05:38 PM
I bought a model 12 varminter a few mounths ago and am havivg about 5% misfires. all shot after recocking and firing again. this with 3 different types of primers. I was at the range again today and again had 2 misfires with this gun only. shot 2 other rifles and no problems. I have been reloading for 40 years and maybe had 2 or 3 misfires in that time. This is my third savage had no trouble with the others. has anyone here had any problems like this.

Thanks

LeeH
02-27-2010, 07:29 PM
If you are able....check the firing pin protrusion.

docsleepy
02-27-2010, 08:39 PM
New or used?

I bought a used savage at a gunshop and was horrified when I disassembled the bolt and found rust everywhere inside. It did clean up pretty reasonably and oiled, it works fine now (for my purposes).

If you have a set of calipers that can measure depth, measure the depth of the bolt recess (where the head of the cartridge goes). Then "fire" the bolt by using the edge of a kitchen counter or piece of wood to move the black pin back near the bolt handle. Then measure the depth to the tip of the firing pin, subtract.

The spec folks say to use is .052, but I've set mine back to about .045 and they still fire fine. It's adjustable. There is a "how-to" on this site.

Most likely you have crud inside the bolt. There are disassembly instructions on this site. Including pictures. You'll need them!

gordon

02-27-2010, 08:56 PM
this a new rifle if i take the bolt apsrt will it void the warrenty

docsleepy
02-28-2010, 12:36 AM
!! are you shooting it with reloads? Sure would seem that reloads would void a warranty a lot faster than diassembly of a bolt.
But if it is a new gun, I'd recommend that you try some factory ammunition, note the results, and then call the factory. They are evidently very helpful if you have a problem. That would be simpler than going after it yourself.