PDA

View Full Version : Treestand Ethics

thermaler
11-24-2013, 06:22 PM
I hunt a public area which is under heavy pressure due to it's relatively small size and easy access. On the right day I've seen deer there (today wasn't one) but have noticed that someone is leaving stands semi-permanently installed in strategic corners of the field in ideal trees. They are secured by metal chain and locks around the trees and in one case has ladder in place as well. The rules for hunting the area state that nothing can be left in place longer than 24 hours--as well as no damage may be done to the trees--but these stands have been up longer--one I've seen there every time I've been there for the last month --and in one case rack hangers have been drilled into the trees. Part of me says what the heck, who cares--but the other part says someone is getting an unfair advantage at everyone else's expense. I'm a beginner at the hunting game--so don't really know if it really makes that much difference. What do you all think?

pdog2062
11-24-2013, 06:57 PM
To me rules apply to everyone to the same degree.Breaking the hunting regulations should be reported to the authorities,whether it is poaching,over limit or whatever.The rules are to be enforced the same for everyone or someone gets an unfair advantage or the shaft on the other side.Turn them in.

BoilerUP
11-24-2013, 06:57 PM
If you are concerned, drop a dime with the DNR/Fish and Game folks.

Don't mess with somebody else's property.

thermaler
11-24-2013, 07:02 PM
I'm on the fence on this one--if it really makes a difference to everyone else's hunt I'm thinking I would report it. I once talked to an old hunter who says he leaves stands in place because he just isn't physically able to carry them in (bad back etc.).

JackinSD
11-24-2013, 09:18 PM