PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice neck sizing .223 down to .204

Trapper
11-10-2013, 02:57 PM
Ok guys, I am not new to reloading, but I am new to neck down sizing a cartridge.
here's what I am doing and something is wrong:
1. Clean and resize all brass as usual as if I was just going to reload for .223
2. Measure the brass and trim to 1.75" if needed. Clean up the neck
3.Lube and run brass thru a Redding Type S die with a .233 neck bushing
4. Run the brass again thru a .225 neck bushing
At this point I should be ready to prime and load the brass, for the .20 Practical
I am having a problem with closing the bolt on a piece of ready brass and opening the bolt back up. I can close the bolt w/ effort but have to tap it back open.
On some of the brass I am creating doughnut bulges in the neck when I size down.
I have a new Criterion ss, 1/11 twist barrel and had a gunsmith install it using a headspace gauge.
Very frustrating but I am patient and want to learn what I am doing wrong.
Thanks for any advice

yobuck
11-10-2013, 05:02 PM
your going to have to fire form it to your chamber. never mind that its ugly it will blow out and be nice again.

BillPa
11-10-2013, 05:37 PM
Humm.....dognuts on the outside? I think your creating a false shoulder by not completely sizing the neck.

I'm not familiar with Redding bushings, but my guess if it has a chamfer( angle cut on the edge) it may be bottoming out on the shoulder before the fully sizing the neck. Try turning it upside down.

Bill

Trapper
11-10-2013, 09:41 PM