PDA

View Full Version : Gun noob needs help about buying blind mag stock for DBM M11

DgTerrell
11-03-2013, 10:01 PM
I got a LH Trophy Hunter XP 11 .308. As of right now, Savage told me they don't make a wood stock that fits my gun, it being a left hand, bottom bolt release and dbm I guess. Right now, my gun is not in the savage website part-finder either because it's only a few months old, and savage told me they update the part-finder quarterly. So I've been browsing over the schematics at Numrich and found a cpl stocks that I have been wondering about.

I'm a complete noob about gun mechanics, so basically I want to know if I could buy one of these, and then send it over to SSS and have them get it to fit my M11 .308? I saw their inletting service is $50, but not sure if this counts as the same. Here are the 2 I've found.
https://www.gunpartscorp.com/ad/1410630.htm

https://www.gunpartscorp.com/ad/1048000.htm#1048000A

Thanks a lot

J.Baker
11-03-2013, 11:10 PM
I'm guessing your rifle has the molded-in magazine frame (not a separate piece of plastic that extents from the front of the trigger guard and around the magazine). These types also use the Axis-style detachable magazine with the plastic bottom cover with integral retention clip. If that's the case then no, there currently are no wood stocks available for your rifle - from anyone. However, you can purchase any factory or aftermarket DBM stock inlet to accept the metal magazine frame and the buy that frame and the appropriate metal bottom cap for your detachable magazine.

Do a search, it's been discussed in about a gazillion threads here in the last year or so.

DgTerrell
11-03-2013, 11:27 PM
Actually mine does have the plastic frame piece
http://i917.photobucket.com/albums/ad18/theterrells/a8d877e3ca5ab8843cad77484e06a44b.jpg
So does having that change anything? Could either of those stocks be made to fit mine?