PDA

View Full Version : Books

cjfish
11-02-2013, 09:13 PM
Hello guys and gals I'm new to the long range stuff and really wanting to learn as much as I can. I was wondering what are some of the books I should read up on? I'm staring with a 11 trophy hunter really liking it so far. I plan on restocking it in the summer and working on load developed, just need to get through hinting season here in MI.
Thanks in advance.

rinodods
11-02-2013, 11:23 PM
Hello guys and gals I'm new to the long range stuff and really wanting to learn as much as I can. I was wondering what are some of the books I should read up on? I'm staring with a 11 trophy hunter really liking it so far. I plan on restocking it in the summer and working on load developed, just need to get through hinting season here in MI.
Thanks in advance.

First stop is looking up a guy named Brian Litz. If you want to understand long range he is your man. Nightforce also has a decent one called Fundamentals of Long Distance Shooting by Ralph T. Hicks. It isn't bad and maybe a little easier to read but Mr. Litz has all that info and much more for you and his stuff is also written so that you don't have to be a ballistics master to get it. I'd hit Applied Ballistics for Long Range Shooting first then maybe the DVD set. They did a really good job with those and showing how the info gets applied in the field. If you want some decent articles to cover in the mean time check out longrangehunting.com. You'll find a lot of very good info there to cut your teeth on. Its gonna be a fun ride!!

http://store.appliedballisticsllc.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=ABFLRS2nd

https://store.appliedballisticsllc.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=AP

https://store.appliedballisticsllc.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=ABDVD1

stangfish
11-03-2013, 01:20 AM
A subscription to brand X instructional videos
Sent you a pm.

rgburrill
11-04-2013, 10:31 AM