PDA

View Full Version : 116 conversion build

Stick&String
10-31-2013, 12:36 AM
Hey guys and gals,
So I have a savage 116 chambered in .300 wm (pre accutrigger). I already have two .300 wm, a kimber montana 8400 for backpacking, and a Christensen arms for ranch hunting. So what I have been really wanting to do is turn my 116 into a long action 7mm-08.
I would like to get the following:
-Good lightweight stock
-Everything needed to replace current magazine with new components to make it feed smooth and reliable
-barrel
-Timney Trigger

My biggest concern comes with the stock and the magazine setup. I would like a blind magazine.

What are your recommendations for a top quality lightweight blind magazine stock and what do I need to buy for the magazine parts? I've never done this before so sorry if these are dumb questions

Thanks, nick

pdog06
10-31-2013, 07:58 AM
not dumb questions at all...

If you want a lightweight stock then go with a Manners. They are the lightest you will find. They are not cheap by any means, but well worth the money.

Then just go online and buy a 243/308 staggerfeed blind mag assembly and a .473 bolthead and youre good to go. Or, With a paid membership to this site and putting an ad in our classifieds, you will likely find someone to trade you parts(your mag hardware for their 243/308 hardware). I just did that exact thing about 3-4 months ago.

For a barrel, just look at one of our site sponsors that have pre fit barrels in stock and ready to ship(northlander, gunshack, etc).

For the trigger, you can buy timney triggers from many different places. SSS and Rifle Basix triggers are also good ones to use.

Check with Northland Shooters Supply. Jim may be able to get you everything you need to do the conversion. Just a call to him you will see that he will make sure you getting what you need. If he dont have it he will steer you in the correct direction.

Stick&String
10-31-2013, 11:09 PM