PDA

View Full Version : Question about setting up FL resizing die - Am I doing it right?

Leozinho
10-27-2013, 07:38 PM
I posted this on another forum, but there's a lot of reloading knowledge here so I'm looking for all the responses I can get.

This is my first time reloading for precision. I'm reloading once fired (in my rifle) 6.5 Creedmoor brass in a Lee single stage press, RCBS shell holder and Hornady Custom Grade dies (full length).

I set the die up according to Hornady's instructions, which is to raise ram to highest position before camming (there's no cam in the Lee) and screw die down until it just touches the shell holder. Set lock ring. So far so good.

However, when I place a piece of brass in the shellholder to size a case, there is a .014 gap between the die and the shellholder when the ram is at the highest position. (Is the Lee press flexing?)

Retesting without a case, the shellholder once again touches the die at its highest position.

Is this gap normal? I know my Lee press isn't the most robust of the single stage presses, which has me concerned about the flex.

Slightly related, should I have gone ahead and screwed the die down another 1/16 or 1/32 of a turn (which would have been bumping the shoulder a touch)? This is not the method shown in Hornady's directions, but seems to be what many people advise.

Thanks for the replies.

goinssr
10-27-2013, 08:17 PM
I would not worry about a .014" gap when full length resizing. If I were precision reloading for some serious competition then I may pay attention to it. Is it possible that your brass is fire stretched? Check it with calipers. It may need to be trimmed.

Leozinho
10-27-2013, 08:45 PM
I was going to trim it after resizing. Do i have the steps out of order?

goinssr
10-27-2013, 08:53 PM