PDA

View Full Version : Should I Re-Barrel?

LoganbillJ
10-23-2013, 05:51 PM
I have a Savage 110 in 300 Win Mag. with a sporter barrel. Best grouping I can get is .915" with my reloads, shoots .915"-985" consistently. It won't shoot factory ammo to save its life. Which is not a big deal now that I reload. Would I beneficial to change to a match grade barrel? Or would I be better off spending money else wear? Any advice is welcome. I am new to the long range shooting. Have been an avid shooter all my life.

Specs on gun and loads.

Savage Model 110
300 Win. Mag.
Timney Trigger, 1.5 #
Choate Ultimate Sniper Stock

Federal Brass
Winchester Primers
72.6 gr IMR 4350
Sierra GameKing 165 gr Spitzer BT

goinssr
10-23-2013, 06:04 PM
That sporter weight barrel is not designed to shoot one holers. Also with as much powder as you are lighting up in that thin barrel it will heat up quick and stay that way for a while as it does not have the heat dissipation rate as a larger diameter barrel will have. You are shooting under MOA with your reloads and that is darn fine for a hunting rifle. You didn't say what kind of groups you get consistently with the factory ammo but if it does 1.5 MOA to 2.0 MOA then it's doing what it is supposed to do. You may want to check headspace and the muzzle crown as well just to be sure that nothing there is out of whack. What twist rate is your barrel and what grain of bullet are you shooting?

LoganbillJ
10-23-2013, 06:08 PM
I am unsure what the twist rate is but I am using the 165gr Sierra Game King SBT

stangfish
10-23-2013, 06:13 PM
Bill, I like to suggest that someone state their intended purpose when asking about upgrading. The world is full of people throwing money at their hobbies. Most of it misspent. Mountain rifle and varmint hunter encompass different build philosophies.

stomp442
10-23-2013, 06:32 PM