PDA

View Full Version : Question on newly pruchased Hog Hunter rifle in .308

308savageLS
10-23-2013, 04:34 PM
Hello,

I am new to this forum and hope someone can answer something for me. I was having a hard time sighting in this rifle the other day. I have bore sighted a Vortex Diamondback 4x12x40 scope. After firing 20 rounds I could not hit the paper at 50 yards. I checked the scope and the mounts and everything was good and snug with nothing loose. I then noticed that the thread protector on end of the barrell was loose. Not real loose but it took 1 1/2 turns to get it tight again. My questions are 1. Did that loose thread protector affect my accuracy? (I am going to guess yes) and 2. Should I remove the thread protector when shooting the rifle? This is assuming I am not using a supressor, flash hider or muzzle brake. I am new to longer range rifle shooting with a scope so please execuse my lack of experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

308savageLS

stangfish
10-23-2013, 04:45 PM
1) No
2) No

Look up DIY bore sighting on Google. Bore sight at 25 yards with the barrel view about 1" below where the scope crosshairs are. You may have other issues however based on what you posted I would think that is priority number 1

DanSavage
10-23-2013, 04:47 PM
Keep thread protector tight and check often, if it loosens again, something is wrong. Your going to have to use a bigger target and shoot at 25 yards. Adjust the scope so your hitting dead center at 25 yards. If you can't get it zeroed at 25 yards, you will need Burris Signature Zee rings with the adjustable inserts to compensate for miss aligned base mounting screw holes on the receiver.

DanSavage
10-23-2013, 04:48 PM
1) No
2) No

Look up DIY bore sighting on Google. Bore sight at 25 yards with the barrel view about 1" below where the scope crosshairs are. You may have other issues however based on what you posted I would think that is priority number 1

You beat me barrel nut brother LOL.