PDA

View Full Version : Different scopes from the same Mfg? Your opinion..... Flame suit on!

n4ue
10-09-2013, 11:19 PM
Ok, I now have 34 scopes, many different mfgs. I like most of them. I am not an Optical Engineer,, just a retired EE.
I don't hunt anymore, but punch a lot of paper during normal daylight here in the Sunshine State. One thing I have noticed is that a LOT of the Chinese scopes (sorry Ziess fans), appear to be VERY, similar. I know that a lot of scopes are made in the same factories 'over there', but maybe with differing QC standards? A LOT of the old USA branded scopes are now made offshore. Simple economics, I don't like it, but it is, what it is.....

Some of the very similar appearing scopes claim to use Japanese glass, assembled in the Phillipines, versus China, where the QC is better, etc. But they SURE do look alike!
I have Hawke, Mueller, Konus, Vortex, Fujinon, Millett, even an FM, that I have been very happy with.
Have had Nikon Monarch, Weaver Kaspa, that were junk. Obviously (??) some of the really low end stuff, NcStar, Barska can be/were ok, FOR the price.....
I have a Japanese Tasco from the early 70s (20X40mm) that I bought new, that is so bright and sharp, it's flat amazing. Can you say SWFA??

Is it really just a crap (sorry about the pun!) shoot anymore ?????

I am always looking for the ultimate cost/performance ratio. Yes, I have several Burris, and several other Nikons as well.
My boss once has several Ziess Scanning Electron Microscopes in his asbestos removal business, but that's a different universe than I play in! ha ha