PDA

View Full Version : More on my 7.62 Tokarev rifle build (finally coming together)

dolomite_supafly
07-20-2009, 08:58 AM
I have been working on loads for this for about 9 months or so. I had envisioned loading heavy stuff at subsonic levels while being able to use factory ammo in a pinch. Everything is finally coming together and I have some loads that are showing real promise. Most loads are shooting in the 2 MOA range which is good considering the max range with the subsonic loadings will probably be 150 yards or so. I still need to do some more testing so maybe I can shrink the groups. The barrel seems to be breaking in well because the groups have gotten smaller over the last 100 rounds or so, hopefully the trend continues.

The rifle itself is a basic short action Savage that I had rebarrelled and chambered in the 7.62x25 Tokarev round. The barrel is 1/10 twist and a little over 24". The reason it is so long is because I was wanting to make sure all powder burned in the barrel if possible. The bolt .223 boltface had to be opened up a little to accomodate the bigger 7.62 case. I turned the ejector around to prevent the cases from ejecting because they would eject just out of the chamber and I would have to "fish" them out. Now all I do is pull the empty case off the bolt face making it much easier than fishing.

Pegleggreg has helped out immensely with load data and without him I probably would have given up long ago while trying to figure out what works.