PDA

View Full Version : My first 1000 yard tournament

BradH
08-05-2013, 12:15 PM
Went to Little Rock, AR last weekend for a two day 1000 yard tournament at Camp Robinson. Managed to squeak out a win both Saturday and Sunday. Being the only one with a stock rifle, Savage Model 12 F/TR, while the others were shooting flashy custom guns made the win even sweeter. http://www.jeffersoncountygunclub.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/HPLR-RSL-Aug-2013.pdf

Prior to last weekend I'd shot a 600 yard match and placed second with the Savage in Oklahoma City and shot two other 600 yard matches with a 20" barrel Remington 700 in OKC and Tulsa. The Savage has improved my scores significantly.

I'm pretty new to handloading as well, the load I used last weekend is as follows:
155.5 Berger bullets
New Lapua brass
46.8 grains Varget
Federal 210 primers
Bullet seated 0.025" off lands

I'd like to thank the following Savage F/TR team members for publicly sharing information. Monty Milanuk has been very generous with his knowledge on this and other forums. I've also picked up valuable information from forum posts and articles by Darrell Buell and Stan Pate.

thomae
08-06-2013, 06:42 AM
Brad,
As you are a relatively new member of the forum, I'd like to offer you a welcome.

Congratulations on your good shooting.

I think you will like this forum. Lots of helpful folks are here willing to help you out (as you have already discovered). I have had good dealings with Monty Milanuk through this forum and he has been very helpful.

Please take a minute to familiarize yourself with the standing rules of the forum. Most of them are here:
http://www.savageshooters.com/showthread.php?24732-User-Agreement

As you have already figured out, many of the questions you may have (either now or in the future) may already have been answered, so please try searching for answers. If you don't find what you need, please don't hesitate to ask in the appropriate section of the forum.