PDA

View Full Version : new guy here with his new savage

crappie josh
07-13-2013, 10:55 PM
so I'm new to the web sight and I also just bought my self my first savage I bought a new 11/111 trophy hunter xp for deer season this year and I took it out and shot it for the first time Friday and its a nice rifle and I like the Nikon scope that came on it but I was told to replace the 2 piece scope rail that came on the rifle a one piece scope rail so does any one have any suggestions for scope rails and is there anything else I can do with my rifle

thanks josh

paradactal
07-14-2013, 02:33 AM
Well. I dont have any advice on a scope rail, but, the first thing you should do i sget to know your rifle. Take it out and shoot it and then find out what you want to do with it. Deer season is coming up and the last thing you want to do is not know your rifle when you see a nice 4x4 at 150yds. That is a nice rifle, Ill be looking to buy that next. Enjoy

stangfish
07-14-2013, 02:39 AM
You really dont need a one piece rail. They afford you some advantages like scope positioning, but for a hunting rifle, as long as the mounts are secure they will do the job fine.

You can do much with your rifle. You can get a Ken Farrel base and some Nightforce rings and put a Swarovski scope on it. You can get the latest and greatest McMillan stock or XLR chasis. You can send you action to fred and have it timed and trued. You can have a custom chambered blank with barrel nut delete and a .250" precision ground SS recoil lug. You got aftermarket triggers and 10 rd magazines. Whatyawannado?

Cjd3
07-14-2013, 03:57 AM
I had a one piece base, and since my rifle didn't have a floor plate or box magazine, the one piece made it a bit of a paint to load and unload. I got a 2 piece QR, and love it. It really does retain zero when removed and out back on.

DQL5150
07-14-2013, 06:35 AM
Find the ammo that your rifle likes and practice.

243LPR
07-14-2013, 10:25 AM