PDA

View Full Version : Opinion on setting headspace with factory round

spook1
07-02-2013, 02:19 PM
I have a 450 Bushmaster barrel and can't find a go gauge. I did pick up 2 boxes of ammo from cabelas and picked up a few pieces of new brass from a friend. Can I set the headspace to the factory loaded rounds, and then after I shoot them all, I will resize some brass and reset the headspace for my dies. I just haven't heard much mention about using a factory round to set headspace.

I figured I could add a piece of scotch tape to the factory round, set headspace, and then check with another piece of tape added. If anyone has any advise, let me know. I have set the headspace on all of my other barrels with resized brass. But I couldn't find brass in stock and did find a couple of boxes of ammo. I figured I could shoot them and then use the brass later.

J.Baker
07-02-2013, 03:23 PM
Shouldn't hurt anything just to get the ball rolling, but you'll want to remove the firing pin from the bolt to prevent any possibility of an accidental discharge occurring.

spook1
07-02-2013, 03:48 PM
Should I put one piece of tape to set headspace, and then 2 pieces of scotch tape as a no gauge?

stangfish
07-02-2013, 03:56 PM
No. Use the case bare and ad the tape to the no-go operation. You really should check the thinckness of the tape. .004 is, IMHO good. .010 would be bad. Something everyone that headpaces a savage should understand is the distance one rotation of the barrel moves the headspace, or as I like to call it linier movement. There is .050 linier movement in one rotation of the barrel.